Food Coma

Please forgive me if this post is at any time incoherent or rambling or just plain boring.  I am on the cusp of a major food coma here and brain deadedness may ensue.  Whoever is out there claiming that Vegan food is “rabbit food” and isn’t satisfying, please show them this post, it will make them eat their words hehe.

For breakfast this morning I woke up with a major hankering for a GM.  It’s been a while since I’d had one so I took the plunge:

The mix:

1 c. vanilla soy milk (I usually do not buy soy milk but the boy had requested it and I was out of Almond)

1 big massive handful of green spinach goodness

1 banana

1 tsp peanut butter

1 tbsp dark chocolate

Oh yeah, this was good.

This kept me going again until about 11 when I cracked open the hummus and crackers for a mid morning snack and then from there I moved onto massive salad #2 for the week.

Leftovers of last night’s sweet potatoes, with avocado, cucumber and spinach and I put some olives on there after this pic was taken.  I absolutely LOVE olives. I am totally a “salty” foods person and olives, especially kalamata olives, fit that bill to a “T”.

I also had a deliciously ripe nectarine as my dessert, so refreshing 🙂

Tonight, rather than close myself off from the rest of the world, I met up with my friend Amy for dinner.  We went a restaurant, ironically named “Cheaters”, in the West Island.  I thought that was pretty fitting since I had no idea how I was going to meet tonight’s vegan challenge, but I ended up prevailing.

First, we kicked things off as all girly nights should, with martinis!

This was an awesome concoction, they called it a “Green Fairy” or something along those lines, sorry, food coma remember?

Anyway, it had blue curacao, pineapple juice, vodka and I think something else, but it was absolutely delicious- I totally recommend it if you ever have the chance to visit!

Next up we each got one of their “Parathas” sandwiches which are an indian flat bread.  I had mine filled with grilled veggies: eggplant, mushrooms, peppers, and onions.  It was pretty good, but it was very oily.  It was served with your standard salad which I had with balsamic vinaigrette.

The main event however, and the one event at which a picture was not taken, was the chocolate fondue!
Oh this was very, very, very, good! I wish I had a pretty picture to show you, but you’ll just have to take my word for it.  The fruit was fresh and the chocolate was decadent- it was the perfect ending to a girls night out.

So safe to say, on tomorrow’s agenda will be a very invigorating morning workout with full cardio and weights 😉

On that note, I’m off to pack my gym bag and get my derriere to bed.

Night-y night!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

