MVVC Day 2

Hey Peeps!

So day 2 has come and gone in the MTL Veggie Vegan Challenge, and it was quite the good day if I do say so myself.

In fact, the food was SO good that yours truly forgot to take any pics.  I honestly think it’s time to go back to my roots and bring the blonde hair back. Well actually the water here doesn’t agree with that, but that’s another story. Moving on.

As I mentioned, Day 2 was pretty rockin both food wise and excerise wise.  Let’s take it from the top, shall we?

Breakfast was short and sweet: 2 pieces of toast with peanut butter topped with a banana and an apricot (I’m addicted to these!)

Around 11 my tummy started a grumblin and I cracked into some hummus and crackers, oh yum yum yum, which tided me over until my real lunch time.  I decided to use up last night’s chick peas and  mango salsa and dumped it onto some salad greens and added half an avocado to the mix.  This was seriously good and filling and just what the doctor ordered.  However around 4pm my stomach was having none of this “no eating” for several hours deal and demanded a pro-bar, so thats just what I had.  It was maple pecan and it was quite the decadent treat.   So decadent that I didn’t eat dinner until 8! I think next time I’ll go for a wee lighter afternoon snack!

When I got home from dinner I was buzzing with energy and kicked it into high gear with a fast 5k run.  Honestly, I probably could’ve run way longer but decided to take it easy today and just enjoy myself, which I did, immensely.

After my run I did some crunches and stretching while watching an episode of Gilmore Girls. Yes, I am and addict and I’m not ashamed to admit it!

For dinner, I decided to keep it light as it was getting later and I don’t feel like tossing and turning at midnight trying to fall asleep on a full stomach. So, I made a nice “nutrient-dense” salad as Gena enjoys calling them, though I’m sure this one isn’t quite up to par as hers are. I’m working on it, I’m working on it!

However, I DID manage to get a pic in before I went to town on this bad boy.

Sweet Potatoe, Avocado, tomato and cuc on a bed of spinach topped off with a light dressing of cider vinegar and olive oil.
For the sweet potatoe I diced it up, laid the pieces out onto a cookie sheet, sprayed lightly with oil and topped with garlic powder, cayenne pepper and a bit of coarse salt.  Popped them into the oven preheated at 400 and baked them for about 25-30 minutes.

So, safe to say a pretty successful day 2.

My thoughts on day 2 are pretty similar to yesterdays reflections.  I kept my meals simple and familiar with vegan friendly ingredients that I love.  My stomach is feeling fantastic and I’m wondering if today’s energy burst had anything to do with my diet?  I want to believe so, but it may still be too early to tell.  Maybe I’ll try doing the same run on Friday after I’ve been eating Vegan for 6 days? Either way, I’m feeling great and if its because of a vegan diet, then more power to it!

Alrighty, I’m off to shower away the sweat and pop into bed where I’ll reconnect with the world of Emma a la Jane Austen.

Merci, bonsoir!

-Jess

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

