Vegan Chunky Monkey

Yes, all you Ben and Jerry’s Fans, you heard me. But I’ll get to that in a sec.

So after yesterday’s glorious Kayak tour, the boyfriend and I had dinner with his parents and then we packed our bags to head back into the city.  As much as we’d have loved to stay an extra night, the boy had a bachelor party to attend and so we left paradise so he could celebrate the end of his friend’s freedom 😉

As we made our way back into the city, my stomach began to feel less and less awesome, probably has something to do with my dairy overload.  And so, while the boy had his fill of beer and strippers (hey, it’s a bachelor party and it’s Montreal- whaddya expect?) I had my fill of peppermint tea and a good book in bed. Oh yeah, I’m a party animal!

Sadly, my tranquil evening did not allow me to sleep in and so, at 7:30 this morning I was wide awake.  I did my best to just relax and read in bed, but by 8:15 I finished my book.  I took this as a sign that it was time to eat and get on with my day.
As I was thinking about what I’d like for breakfast, I had a bit of a revelation:

A)    I was back home in my own environment where I would be able to eat as I chose, and

B)     The boyfriend leaves tomorrow for a week-long business trip, so I’ll be left to my own culinary devices until next weekend

I took this as a sign for my aforementioned need to give up dairy to take on a bit of a challenge: an all-vegan diet for a week.

Over the next week I am going to follow a strict vegan diet where no mis-steps are allowed.   I’m actually really excited about this.  I’m the sort of person who needs a goal, or a challenge, to motivate me to do something new.  I entered into the 10K race, not necessarily for the race itself, but to give me a reason to go and run 4 or 5 times a week.  So while I can’t exactly have a vegan “eating race” I’m going to challenge myself to see how I will do on an all-vegan diet for 7 days.  This should prove to be quite the challenge as well as I have a dinner planned with a friend and a birthday party taking place on my social events calendar for this week so I can’t take the easy route and play food-hermit for the next week.  I actually have to cope with dining out vegan style! I should also mention that any exercise plans will remain the same and I will not be making any adjustments to them based only on my change in diet.

So, on that note, here are the eats for Day 1 of the MTL Veggie Vegan Challenge (MVVC)

Breakfast:

Pretty simple bowl of cereal with a banana and vanilla almond milk

Lunch:

Avocado, tomato and cucumber wrap with Dijon mustard

Homemade iced tea.

I also had an unpictured snack of Naan bread with hummus.

Dinner:

Dinner was freakin’ awesome! Chickpea Tacos à la Happy Herbivore served up with some Mango Salsa and a garden salad.

The mango salsa was really simple and uber delicious.  I happened to have some frozen mango in the freezer so I took them out earlier today.

Here’s the recipe:

1 c. chopped mango (you can use either fresh or frozen depending on what’s available).

¼ -1/2 c. diced cucumber

¼ c. red onion, finely diced

2 tbsp chopped cilantro

Zest and juice of 1 lime

Salt to taste (optional)

Combine all ingredients in a bowl, refrigerate for at least one hour.

After dinner, I had a really strong craving for ice cream, and not just any ice cream: Ben and Jerry’s Chunky Monkey ice cream.  Luckily for me, the only Ben and Jerry’s is a 20 minute drive from here so that was automatically vetoed even before thinking about the Vegan thing.   So I decided to get a li’l creative with the ever infamous: Banana Soft Serve.

I give you: Chunky Monkey Banana Soft Serve

1 frozen banana

1-2tbsp dark chocolate, finely chopped

Pop the banana and ¾ of the chocolate into the good ol’ blender and mix it up until soft and creamy.  Dump the contents into a bowl, wipe drool from mouth, top with remaining chocolate, devour enjoy!  I think next time I’ll top ‘er up with some coconut aswell.

Over all it is très simple and TRÈS delicious.

So that was my vegan eating for the day in a nutshell.  My thoughts so far? Well, to be honest, I kept things pretty simple and I’m going to be keeping them simple all this week.  I’m going to focus on using foods I love and am familiar with.  As I progress in my vegan eating I may begin to incorporate different foods and different cooking methods to see how I like them. I’m sure even a few raw meals will crop up from time to time.  But for now, I’m going to focus on this week and this week only to see how I like the vegan diet and if this could possibly be a permanent lifestyle change for me.

That’s all for now, have a fantastic remainder of your weekend!

-Jess

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vegan Chunky Monkey

  1. Tess says:

    So here’s a question: are you limiting your chocolate intake to pure cocoa only as well? What about milk chocolate?

Leave a Reply

