Escape from the City

Mid-June means two words for the city of Montreal: Grand Prix.

That’s right folks, thousands of people have piled into the city for an exciting weekend of car racing; can you sense my enthusiasm from your screen? Yeah, me neither.

Don’t get me wrong, the Grand Prix is great for the city of Montreal- influx in tourism which means influx in spending in the city.  Local vendors have said that the Grand Prix weekend equals 2 months of regular business for them. 2 months!

However, the influx of tourism means an influx in traffic: on the streets, in the malls, on the streets, in the restaurants, on the streets… You catch my drift.

So, while everyone was pouring into the city, the boyfriend and I decided to pour out and up to his parent’s cottage up north.

Best idea for our sanity.  It’s been great so far.  The weather hasn’t been exactly perfect, mostly overcast, but it’s still pretty warm with a bit of humidity, and we haven’t had any rain, yet. Knock on wood.

However, this hasn’t been the best weekend for my decision to eliminate dairy from my diet.  As it’s been a fairly new decision, I haven’t exactly “broken the news” to anyone yet, and to be quite honest, I’m now quite sure how to do so.  I mean, my main argument to people who raise objections to my vegetarianism (read: my parents and close friends- the opinions that tend to matter) has been: well, at least I’m not vegan! Woops.

So, my stomach hasn’t been in exactly the finest of spirits but meh, what can ya do?

Dinner last night was delicious: Goat cheese stuffed raviolis with a piquant tomato-based sauce served up with a refreshing garden salad. Sorry no pics, but I can promise you it was good.  Woops.

We then went on to have cheesecake for dessert. Double woops.  Things didn’t get much better at breakfast when I had skim milk with my ceereal.  But I earned some redemption at lunch: a delicious sandwich with avocado, tomato, red onion and Dijon mustard.

After lunch the boyfriend and his Dad came back from golfing and everyone, except me, decided to take a little siesta before dinner-time.  To be honest, I’m not much of a napper as I can’t stand wasting any part of the day laying in bed.  So, since the lake was nice and calm I decided to take a trip out on the kayak and enjoy the warm weather while escaping those nasty black flies.   Check out these pics and you’ll see why I love this place so much:

Yeah, I may have a picture-taking problem, I believe there are about 30 other pictures I took while out there, but I’ve decided to spare you 😉

When I finally dragged myself from the lake, I decided I needed a bit of a snack to tide me over till dinnertime.  There’s a succulent apple crumble pie calling my name, but I decided to be good and opted for the dairy free choice of a piece of rye bread with peanut butter.

Well, that’s pretty much all I have to report for now, not sure what the b/f’s Mom has in store for dinner.  I’m going to do my best to make it as dairy free as possible, but as I haven’t broken the news to her and it’s still a really new resolution (I warned you this is going to be a transition, rather than an overnight change), dairy may be consumed a bit.  Next time I’m up here though, I’ve decided I’m going to be a bit more proactive so if that means I need to bring some almond milk and dairy-free foods/meals along with me, well then I guess that’s just what I’ll do. I already dropped a subtle hint of how dairy has not been agreeing with my stomach lately, so I’ve started to lay some ground work for our next trip up here 😉

A question to all you vegans out there: when you first started “going-vegan” or began eliminating dairy from your diet, how did you approach social meal-oriented situations?

Well, that’s it for me, I think I’m going to get a bit of work done before the rest of the clan wakes up. I’ll leave you with this last shot:

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

