Blogspectations

Hi Blog World!

It’s me, the long-lost, and most likely forgotten, MTL Veggie.  When I first started this blog, I kind of forgot key factors such as I have a full time job, a caring boyfriend, friends, a social life, etc… So I think I bit off more than I can chew here when it came to blogspectations.  That being said, I’ve missed blogging. I’ve missed writing on a daily basis, posting pictures of the foods that have enticed me for the day; so, I’m going to give it another shot if you’ll let me?

But let’s be honest, blogging twice a day is just not gonna happen, sorry! Let’s aim for once a day, preferably after dinner, which is always my most creative meal (I am NOT a morning person). Yes I realize it’s morning now, but WordPress was down last night, so the lovely post that you’re reading today was actually written yesterday and, well, you get the point.
So it’s been a while since I’ve spoken to any of you and I feel like I need to catch you up to speed.  I may not need to, but I WANT to, so deal 🙂

1)      I have finished my 10K race! I clocked in at 54:55 a time I am extremely proud of! I really enjoyed the race and the whole experience (training and all) and I don’t think I could’ve run any better than I did. I played it smart and put in a good sprint at the end with my friends cheering me on and had a fun victory celebration in our Nation’s Capital.

2)      Since completing the Ottawa 10K I have set my sights on the Montreal 10K this September.  Assuming all goes well I’ll be training to run the half marathon in Ottawa next year.

3)      I’ve left my job at Mega Bloks to return to my sports roots.  I’m now working as the marketing/pr coordinator for The North Face and couldn’t be happier with the move.  This really will not be an integral part of my blog, but the job may involve some travelling, so I figure I may just give you an FYI.

4)      I’ve slowly but surely started eliminating dairy from diet. I know, I’m shocked too! After nearly 5 years as a satisfied lacto-ovo vegetarian my body is just not diggin the dairy any longer. This is a bit of scary move for me as I absolutely LOVE cheese.  I’ll expand on this on a later post but for now let’s get back to the food.

Behold, my first-ever entirely vegan meal! Well, I’m sure it isn’t but I could’v easily used dairy in this meal, but I used my stubbornness savvy and tried something new. Check it out!

Well, before you do, I feel I should mention that before dinner, I had a brief but exhausting work out on the treadmill after work last night. Did I mention that our office has a gym as well? Yes, I know; I would be jealous of me too 😉
I then did some quick stretching and headed home where dinner needed to be made then consumed. Oh was it ever devoured consumed.

Behold, the aforementioned VEGAN dinner! A la Indian

This is Daal with Naan, roasted sweet potatoes and my own take on raita.

more up-close:

The Daal is a recipe inspired by Jenna, however I substituted the cumin seeds for ground cumin.  I think next time around I’ll actually cut back on the cumin and maybe add a bit more coriander and maybe some more cinnamon to it, other than that though twas simply delicious.  The raita, was admittedly a bit of a challenge and I hummed and hawed over it for a few days.  After looking up countless “vegan raita” recipes that called for soy yogurt, I decided to wing it.  I did come across one recipe that used pine nuts as the base but I wanted to keep it light this time around.  My version of things used coconut milk, of all things, as the base, and, not to pat my own back, tasted pretty darn awesome!

Here’s my recipe:

Jess’s vegan raita

½ c. coconut milk

Juice of 1 lemon

1 tsp coriander

½ tsp cumin

¼ tsp cayenne

1 tbsp mint leaves finely chopped

¼ c. finely diced cucumber

Mix all the ingredients together, adjust seasonings to taste and enjoy! 🙂

It even makes for an awesome salad dressing:

Well kids, that’s all for now.  I did some Yoga this morning to get my day started and I’m currently enjoying a bowl of Fibre 1 cereal at the office about to get my day started (FYI- I now have windows where I sit, rejoice!)

We are heading up to the cottage tonight so I’m excited to relax and do nothing for the next couple of days. Have a happy Friday!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

