Where I’ve been

So I’ve been MIA lately and while I would normally apologize, I realized that I need to stop, not because I want to be rude but because I’m really only apologizing to myself which is redundant.

My lovely friend Tess, whom has been a regular commentator on here, reminded me that I began this blog as both a way to chronicle my training and eating habits for my upcoming race, but also as a creative outlet, aka I did this for myself and myself only. I know, I know, selfish but that’s honest the reason why.   Unfortunately, what I kind of forgot was that I typically lead a very busy and full life- sometimes only coming home at 11pm on a weeknight and such was the case last night.

I’m going to do my best to blog regularly but I’m a person who consistently prioritizes.  My job, boyfriend/friends/family and health/fitness are all my top priorities, and I’ve been doing a pretty good job at staying on top of them, but that has meant this blog has fallen a bit on the wayside.  It’s going to take a while for this to become a proper priority in my life once I figure out how it fits in, until then I will apologize if I’m letting anyone down, but I hope you will understand. So I’m asking you all to be understanding and appreciate that while I want to do this right, it’s going to take me a while to land on a rhythm for this place- baby steps.

In the mean time, I’ll tell you what I’ve been up to:

Tuesday- I was in bed all day with my horrible death-like cold all the while this happened outside:

[Source]

Yep, that’s right- snow at the end of April. Pretty safe to say that I was none too upset about staying at home indoors ;).

Wednesday, I was feeling so much better! So much so, that I decided to join in the hockey fever and journeyed with some friends downtown to this location:

[Source]

I downed a delicious Veggie Burger and washed it down with a pint of their St. Ambrose Apricot Wheat ale- mmmm mmm mmm!

Following our shocking surprising win over the Caps, Habs/ Halak fever spread out onto the streets of Montreal, where my friends and I observed the fervour firsthand.

This morning I woke up to the refreshments of a nice cold Green Smoothie.

The mix:

1 banana

1 c Almond milk

Big handful of spinach

½ tsp vanilla

1 tbsp chia

My appetite hasn’t fully returned from my bout of illness so far today I’ve eaten:

Cheese and crackers

Veggies

Oatmeal cookie

I promise to eat something a bit more substantial for dinner!

Tonight’s fitness goal is go on an easy 3-4 mile run, depending on how my chest is doing- wish me luck!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

