The Power of Yoga

Okay, so you know the saying “you learn something new everyday”? Well today I learned that I should never, under any circumstances, cook when I am sick.

Tonight, upon arriving home from a hard day at work (and scaring disturbing the whole office with my racking cough) I decided to do some therapeutic cooking to cheer me up. So I dug out the ingredients and the produce (which was fast approaching its expiry date) needed for a nice spring vegetable risotto.

Risotto is one of my ultimate comfort foods- I love the creamy texture paired with crisp veggies and the nice shaving of parmesan cheese that is next to mandatory.  So, I began the process- you know chopping veggies, measuring ingredients, prepping stock, etc…- and I guess I was just not in the right mindset that I was screwing everying up pretty much from the outset. I’ll spare you all the gory details and just say that, tonight we didn’t have risotto for dinner.  In fact, we didn’t have any dinner at all! I think I munched on a pear…

The man and I were/are both exhausted from my keeping us both up half the night with this god-forsaken cough that we both just did not feel like eating a square meal. I know, I know, slap me on the wrist I’m a bad girl.

Another thing I’m definitely learning is that sickness paired with reduced exercise means Jess just is not gonna be a hungry gal.  Normally, I’m a complete pig and totally gorge on all kinds of yummy foods.  Exhibit A: my totally random and totally delicious concoction from not too many moons ago.

Once again, with the racking cough, I opted out on the run and traded it in for a good half our sesh of Yoga.  My limbs feel much better to be stretched out and tomorrow, I have promised myself that I will set out and enjoy a jog, even if it means I have to slow down for a walk from time to time. I’m really scared of having my cardio go down too much and that I’ll have to start from scratch and my race is only a few weeks(!) away.

Ok enough with the blathering and random words; I’m off to get a good night’s sleep so I can start my morning off right.

Namaste

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

