The Revenge of the Chest Cold

This is gonna be a quick one folks- I am fading really fast over here.

Today was a pretty non-eventful day at the office, which as we all know, are my least favorite days. Ah well, it gave me time to enjoy my lunch for once.

Today’s lunch menu was made up of:

Amy’s Split Pea soup

Multigrain crackers

Apple

Overall, I found the soup to be a little salty, I don’t think I’ll be buying this one again. The crackers on the other hand were just as addictive as they were before- I quite enjoyed them 😉

Since today was pretty uneventful I was able to leave the office at a decent hour and do some grocery shopping- the man and I were in desperate need of fresh produce and staples such as milk and bread.

Upon returning to the homestead, I decided to say “screw you, cold!” and headed out for a run.  All was going well until I hit mile #2 and struggled to finish mile #3. Turns out my chest decided to retaliate against the abuse. Bahh!

It was worth it though, as I was going stir-crazy at the office today and needed to get some exercise, if only for my sanity.

After my panting run, I decided to use some of the aforementioned produce for my dinner.

I chopped up some broccoli and prepped some asparagus, blanched them, and then tossed them into a frying pan with garlic, olive oil and balsamic vinegar.  I topped this mound of green deliciousness onto some couscous I prepared using the broccoli/asparagus water and half a teaspoon of vegetable bouillon.  I then covered the whole mess with some freshly grated parmesan cheese.  This was light and filling and totally what I needed!

Well, I’m sorry to cut this quick, but I need my beauty sleep. I hope you had a fabulous Monday and I’ll speak to you in the AM.

Peace Out!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Revenge of the Chest Cold

  1. Tess says:

    Fennel and orange salad:

    2 bulbs fennel
    5 medium oranges
    2/3 cup chopped fresh parsley
    2 tbs chopped black olives
    1 tsp olive oil
    s & p to taste

    1. Trim, quarter, core, then thinly slice the fennel. Place in a medium bowl.
    2. With a paring knife, remove peel and pith from oranges, and separate. Do this over the bowl so juices drip in.
    3. Mix in oranges, parsley, olives, oil, and s & p.

    Serves 4. 130 calories per serving.
    You’re welcome!

Leave a Reply

