The MTL Veggie Returns… le sick :(

Well, it happened, I have got a nasty, nasty cold and I am none too pleased about it.

I have a feeling the flight to and from Toronto did nothing to help either. Oh well- it was totally worth it.

Now, where did I leave off? Oh right, Saturday!

Saturday was super fun and exciting, well at least after my dentist appointment it was 😉

I got my hair cut and had my roots touched up. Yes, I go all the way home to get my hair cut. I have had the same hairstylist since I was 15 and there is no way I’m changing now!  But can’t you see that it’s totally worth it? Hehe Sorry for the blurry pic!

Following my hair appointment, I came home, made a quick sandwich of tomato and swiss on whole grain bread with a bit of mustard- sorry no pic!

After our quick lunch my Mom and I headed out for some shopping! We went to this one store called “Solutions” and I fell in love. They are a store that has every day storage solutions ranging from office to bathroom to kitchen- it was amazing! I am obsessed with storage and organizing everything so this is probably my new favourite store.

Afterward we went to winners to help my Mom find a new purse.  She really likes the colour of my yellow one:

After our shopping expedition, we returned home for the 2nd part of her surprise: My big brother and his girlfriend! She was floored and so happy to have all her kids home for her birthday. I don’t think the three of us have been together since Thanksgiving, but it’s always entertaining when we are!

Since our dinner reservations were for 8:30, we decided to have some afternoon appetizers- again where was my camera?! We put together a nice cheese tray with some breads, crackers, olives and marinated artichoke hearts along with some Caesars!

After we gorged ourselves I was in total need of a nap (I hate being sick, it saps my energy).

For dinner, my Dad made reservations at Cucci, a fine-dining Italian restaurant.  They were super busy that night and to say the service was slow would be a bit of an understatement… I think it was 10-10:30pm before we received our main course? However, to be fair, my plate of Tagliatelle with mushrooms and leeks was absolutely delicious. I also had the beet salad to start which was okay, but not the best one I’ve ever had. I didn’t take any pics as the lighting sucked and I wasn’t sure if the restaurant staff would appreciate pictures being taken- I’m still really new at this whole blogging thing.

We’ve been to Cucci before, the last time I’d had the Lobster Spaghetti (yes, I will on occasion eat seafood but not very often) and it was a little bland.  All in all the food is “okay” -I’m not sure it’s always worth the prices but, I’ll leave that up to your discretion if ever you have an opportunity to eat there.

By the time we got home, we all promptly went to bed and woke up to the smell of bacon and waffles- oh hello! Well, no bacon for me obviously but no one can top my Mama’s waffles!

This is a sample of a plate, I had this (minus the bacon) topped with strawberry jam and pure maple syrup.  Needless to say, this kept me full up until the afternoon for my flight.

Once again, I decided to pack some snacks rather than spend a fortune at the airport.  I packed some dried fruit, some cheddar cheese jalapeno crackers (addictive!) and some slices of jarlsberg cheese (one of my favs!)

My flight landed at around 5:30-6 and I wasn’t in the mood to either cook or really eat, so the poor man was left to fend for himself (sorry, babe!) But he did spectacularly by cooking up some Spanish style rice with tofu and some spices.  I even mustered up the strength for a small bowl.

This morning dawned bright and sunny with a bowl of overnight oat-y goodness waiting for me.

The Mix had:

1/3 c. Oats

3/4 c. Almond Milk

Toppings:

1 tbsp Chia Seeds

1 Banana sliced

Splash of Vanilla Yogurt

Drizzle of Almond Butter

I decided to forgo the morning coffee and opted for the Chai tea.

You may have noticed that I didn’t train this weekend. I’m not going to lie, I had every intention of doing so, but my body is still really exhausted both from travelling and from my cold. I’m going to go for an easy run tonight but I really wanted to let my body rest over the weekend and focus on spending time with my family.

Alright, back to work for me, hope you have a fabulous Monday!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

