TGIF

Sorry for the lack of title originality but I am just SO HAPPY it’s FRIDAY- this week has dragged!!!

I know what you’re thinkin- no post last night, but let me ‘splain! 😉

I got an email in the afternoon from the Man asking if I wanted opt in for a bit of a bbq action at his Mom’s last night.  My response? Well any time I can come home from work, not have to cook, and eat something that’s not take out is always a HUGE plus in my book! Don’t get me wrong, I love to cook, I would marry it if possible (sorry babe!), but when the week has been as long as it has been this week, I was in need of either a work or culinary break.  As the former wasn’t available to me, I had to go with the latter.

When we got to her house, somethin’ good was definitely goin on in there! The man’s brother was in charge of everything and he is a fantastic cook, so I knew we were in good hands 😉

Unfortunately I may have forgotten my camera at the office- my bad!

He had prepared chicken breasts for the carnivores which, honestly, smelled divine and pasta and veggies for the herbivore and carnivores alike. The pasta was topped with a parma-rosa sauce which was awesome and I piled on my broccoli, cauliflower and carrots to go with it.  I was sooooo full I nearly cried when they brought out dessert. I passed on the cupcakes but indulged in a piece of maple-walnut fudge which completely melted in my mouth.  Oh yes, please!

When I got home, I promptly changed out of the quickly tightening jeans and began packing.

Not sure if I told you all yet, but I’m heading to Ontario tonight to see the family! Woohoo I am so excited to be headed back home.  It was my Mommy’s birthday yesterday so I’m heading down to surprise her and my older brother who lives in Northern Ontario will be coming down on Saturday- she has no idea 😉

Because of this evenings flight, this every so slightly affected my workout plans so I woke up at the crack of 5:45 and dragged my sorry self to the gym.

I actually felt really good and did a 30 min tempo run and then some awesome stretching. I absolutely LOVE to stretch- it makes the workout that much better at the end!

My early morning workout actually got me to the office at a decent hour where I promptly downed yesterday’s smoothie and an English muffin with peanut butter.

Now on to the countdown to my flight!

I’ll talk to you all live, from the GTA, tonight!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

