Bring on the Vitamin C!

Sorry for the delayed post guys!

I feel like crap 😦 I have a sore throat, a stuffy nose and my head feels like it’s full of straw. I hate, hate, hate being sick!

With that being said, I’m sure you can imagine what I made myself for breakfast this morning:

Yes my smoothie in a sports bottle!

The Mix:

2 c. Almond Milk

2 tbsp Chia seeds

Handful of frozen strawberries

1 banana

½ tsp vanilla

Clearly with this portion size, I was sharing with the man 😉

However, on my way out the door I FORGOT my smoothie! Tragic!

The caf had no fresh fruit, the only thing I available was a lonely apple that’s been hanging out in my purse for the last few days.


Oh well, I’ll take it.

Since I’ve been noticing the smoothie wasn’t completely filling me up, I made myself a small almond butter and jam sandwich on whole grain bread.

This helped me actually make it to lunchtime!

Lunch was pretty fabulous-o! I had 2 quickly ripening avocados sitting on my countertop this morning and figured I’d better make proper use of them before they get a li’l too ripe 😉

So I chopped one up along with half a tomato and topped with some garlic seasoning.  I was out of lemon juice so I popped the pit back into the mix to help prevent it from oxidizing too much- it miraculously worked!

I served this bowl of awesomeness up with hummus and multigrain crackers- these are becoming addicting for me.

Later on I have a small bowl of vanilla yogurt calling my name.

The jury’s still out on whether or not I’ll head to the gym, it’s all gonna depend on how I’m feeling. I think I’m going to go and do an easier jog on the treadmill and see how I fare. Wish me luck! But first I am in dire need of a breath-mint…

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

