My Roses are Pink, Carnations are Blue, my Blender is Broken, and Sushi’s good too!

As you can probably tell my day was of many mixed emotions.

I woke up seriously craving a nice refreshing smoothie.  As I got the ingredients together and started to dump them into the blender, something miraculous happened- the almond milk started pouring out from the bottom- awesome! Not gonna lie- I was pretty devastated, and late, so I dashed off to work, smoothie-less and with a few road-law infractions along the way.

When I got to work, I grabbed an English muffin with some peanut butter, but just wasn’t the same (obviously).

I ate it with a banana and got on with my day, but not before receiving a super sweet email from the man, who is still stuck in Germany, wishing me a happy anniversary! All together now: “Awwwwwww!” And “Booooo!” For being stuck in Germany.

After I wiped the sloppy grin off my face I got on with my work-related emails.  I should also mention that up till this time I had the honest intention of heading to the gym at lunch before I received the rude awakening of a working lunch meeting that lasted pretty much the entire day.

Oh and did I mention that they were so kind to order us lunch… of roasted chicken.  I then received the odd looks when asked for a vegetarian friendly meal, like a wrap. I got a salad and baked potato (were not worth a picture).  Ah well, I was starving so I appreciated the veggies I missed out on this morning, gotta try and see that glass as half full!

At one point during the meeting I got up to check my inbox to make sure it hadn’t imploded during my absence when I was summoned to the reception area.  Upon my arrival, what do I find but this:

The man felt so bad that we weren’t able to celebrate our anniversary together that he sent me flowers!! Again, the cheesy grin appeared and has yet to disappear!

Our meeting lasted until 4pm and I had, again, the honest intention of rushing home to get in a quick run before I met up with friends for dinner.  However my boss decided that I needed to stay until 6 to get some stuff done, dinner was at 7, needless to say run did not happen. Boo! Ah well, I have promised myself that tomorrow under no circumstances will I not be running. If I don’t I have to give up coffee for 2 weeks- that’s right, I went for the low-blow ;).

After work I, again, overlooked the posted speed-limit to get home to put the flowers in a vase and change before rushing back out again.

I think I should’ve been a florist, don’t you? Hah!

Dinner was with Steph and Karo who both decided I shouldn’t have to be alone for my anniversary- how amazing are girlfriends?! So we went for some sushi which I haven’t had in about a century! We went to Mikado which is a very nice place in the Monkland Village, my old neighborhood 😉

I had an awful disgusting disappointing vegetarian roll and then a super delicious roll that they called the Lona which had tempura vegetables wrapped up in a miso wrapper- OMG I was in sushi heaven with this guy!

Fail

Winner!!!

While I was at the restaurant, I received another phone call from the man who informed me that he is on standby for a flight tomorrow!! Keep your fingers crossed that he’ll be able to get on the flight and get home!

I’m off to bed and will dream sweet dreams of my man, my flowers and the new blender I will need to purchase.

G’night!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

