Not so Manic Monday

So, I got to the office this morning at a relatively early hour thinking I was going to be in for a psycho busy day as it had been all last week.  Well, it wasn’t.

Like I’ve mentioned in the past, I’m the kind of person who revels in a busy fast-paced environment and just sort of crashes when it’s quiet- yes, I’m weird. Accept it.

I probably could’ve headed to the gym for lunch and gotten in a good workout, but decided to hold off until the end of the day since I didn’t have any plans and I didn’t want to feel rushed at the gym.  Yes, I know, I like to be busy at work but don’t like to be rushed at the gym- weird, remember?;)

Anywho, I took a break to eat my lunch which was simply delicious:

Leftover roasted veggies over spinach from last night with some hummus

Olives

A macadamia nut and apricot Kind Bar

This wasn’t too bad, I’ve never had this flavor before, but I tasted coconut more than anything else so it was a bit misleading.

I also had an un-pictured pear with some vanilla yogurt for dessert.

Twas very satisfying- I was hungry all day and just seriously craving food!

After work I headed over to the gym to get my sweat on.  I did my interval training which started with a 5 minute warm up followed by 3 intervals: 7 minutes at 7.2mph pace and 3 minutes at 5.2mph pace.  I was actually pretty tired and struggled a bit- maybe the slow pace at work tired me out? I pushed myself and fought through it, but during the 2nd interval I had to slow the 5.2 pace down to walking so I could catch my breath before the final interval.  Glad I did that, otherwise I wouldn’t have been able to finish.

After the treadmill, I noticed my knee was aching a bit- this isn’t the slightest bit out of the ordinary, though.  Pretty much every sport I’ve ever played has contributed in some fashion to damaging my knees- lovely! But, I decided to not push it too hard and did an upper body workout rather than lower body to give my knee a bit of a break.

My circuit was:

Shoulder Press, 15lbs x 15 reps

Chest Press, 15bls x 15 reps

Bicep Curls, rope x 15 reps

Abs, passing stability ball from arms to legs x 15 reps

Stability Ball thigh squeeze (squeeze ball between your thighs for 4 seconds) x 15 reps

I did this circuit 3 times followed by some excellent stretching to relax my muscles.  I came home a sweaty and hungry girl- how attractive 😉

The one bonus to the man being stuck in Germany is that I don’t feel guilty coming home a bit later than expected from the gym and only having to worry about feeding myself.

Like I mentioned earlier, I had planned out my meals for the week and on the menu tonight I had decided on grilled cheese and salad.

For my grilled cheese I topped up 2 pieces of whole wheat sprouted bread with cheddar cheese, sliced avocado and some caramelized onions.

Cooking Tip: Rather than buttering up the bread, use the same pan in which you caramelized the onions, with a bit more olive oil and use that to grill your sandwich. This way you’ll avoid using excess fat and dirtying another dish- bonus!

I served it up alongside a makeshift coleslaw consisting of red cabbage, carrot and red bell pepper with a homemade vinaigrette.  Very filling and very satisfying.

Well I’m heading off to bed a happy girl.  Talk to you in the AM!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

