Party Like It’s 1984

Hellooooo!

Sorry I disappeared (again)! This weekend was pretty jam-packed.  My friend Tess came down with her b/f John to help celebrate our friend’s birthday and they only left today so I wasn’t really in much of a position be blogging, I hope you’ll forgive me.

Here are some highlights of my weekend:

The table was set for Tess and John’s arrival dinner:

cashew-cocunut curry vegetables over quinoa (delicious!)

Then we headed downtown for the birthday celebrations. Pretty safe to say we partied like it was 1984!

I was channeling my inner Madonna

80s-style bowling is all the rage now 😉

MK and I were matching!

Saturday, we were all so tired from the night before (I think we headed to bed around 3?) we decided to keep it low-key and headed over to Sahib for dinner.  I promised them all that it would be the best Indian food they ever had, clearly I didn’t disappoint! 😉

Just some of the delicious food we devoured

My meal: Vegetable Korma Balti with Naan mmmmm!

The best part about ordering Indian food (aside from the awesome savoury goodness) is you get to sample a bit of everything! Tess and I kept going back and forth between each others meals, our friend Steph insisted we try her samosa’s (the best I’ve ever had, btw) and John’s Royal Feast could’ve fed all 4 of us quite satisfactorily (well, if it had been vegetarian ;)).  Needless to say we all went to bed seriously FULL!

This morning, Tess and I woke up at a decent hour and decided to head out for a run.  Tess will be running the 10K race with me next month so it was fun to be able to run with her.  I typically don’t run with other people as I’m afraid I’ll either slow them down (like my speed-y boyfriend) or they’ll slow me down.  However, Tess and I are pretty competitive and we kept pace with each other on a short 3 mile circuit and we both set PR’s for ourselves this morning, I think our overall time was just over 21 minutes- something unheard of for either of us!

After our run we made Chia Strawberry Kiwi smoothies!

In the mix was:

2 kiwis cut up

handful of whole strawberries

2 ½ cups of vanilla almond milk

3 tbsp of chia seeds

John, Tess and I all downed these refreshing drinks with some whole wheat toast. I topped mine of with some almond butter and raspberry jam and some pomegranate green tea- delicious!

John and Tess packed up and left around noon and by then I was hungry again so I reheated up last nights leftovers from Sahib.  Last night I ordered the Vegetable Korma Balti with Naan which is this enormous concoction of deliciousness made up of veggies with paneer doused in an almond cashew sauce- Ah-Mazing! Reheated for lunch did the trick.

After lunch I received a call from the man who is currently stranded in Germany due to the exploding volcano in Iceland.  It’s looking like he may not be able to get home until at least Friday, sad! I was definitely looking forward to his return today so needless to say we’re both disappointed that wasn’t the case.  Keep your fingers crossed he’ll be able to get home safe and sound soon!

Later on I did some cleaning, grocery shopping, laundry, and then decided to make a super delicious dinner to cheer me up.

This was a roasted vegetable salad served over spinach, red cabbage and quinoa topped with my remaining bocconicini ball and white wine vinaigrette and some olives. Sooooo good!

The roasted veggies were broccoli, zucchini, sugar snap peas, red bell pepper and carrots.  I tossed the veggies in 2 tbsp each of olive oil and balsamic vinegar, some basil, salt and pepper and tossed in a clove of garlic.  Dump the veggies in a casserole dish and bake @ 350 for 15-20 minutes and then serve- you will not be disappointed!

I also had some of these multigrain crackers I picked up from the grocery store today and they are pretty good for a store brand (Our Compliments, care of IGA and Sobeys FYI)

Since its looking like I will be on my own again this week I got proactive. Rather than let myself get frazzled and fall behind like I did last week, I made up a menu for the week that I have promised myself I will follow (so far so good ;)) along with my training schedule. I’m hoping this will make it easier to get through the week and make sure I keep up with a healthy diet and exercise.  Let’s hope I keep up with it.

Alright, another episode of Gilmore Girls is calling my name before I hit the sack. Have a good night and enjoy the rest of your weekend!!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

