Smoothie to go!

Good morning, IT’S FRIDAY!!! (I don’t sound happy with this bit of news at all, right?)

The only downside is it’s supposed to be miserable allllll weekend long-  so not cool. I hope it doesn’t rain non-stop as I’d like to be able to get in a long run this weekend. I’m aiming to get up to 6 miles, so we’ll see how the weather holds up.

But, I’ll talk a bit about this week’s failures as I need to own up to it so it doesn’t happen again:

Yesterday’s lunch was at the mall, and I think from the lack of regular square meals from the past couple of days, my body was STARVING!! I seriously have not been this hungry in a long time.  I was originally going to get a salad from Chop Crazy- yeah that didn’t happen, I instead went for the Tandoori, which is this awesome Indian fast-food place where I always get the same thing: their Paneer Naan Wrap- OMG is this ever good!! They have huge chunks of Paneer  in their tomato-based curry sauce with onions and peppers served up with potatoes and salad, neither of which is anything special and I usually don’t bother with them. I also got a potato samosa to go with it.  I was happily full. I don’t believe I was hungry again until past 8pm last night- a true rarity for me.

As I mentioned yesterday, my plan was to leave work at 5:00ish, head over to the gym for a quick workout and then meet up with some friends to watch a bit of the hockey game.  Well upon entering my gym, I realized I had forgotten my running shoes!! (Who does this? Me, apparently!)  I was pretty upset that I had done that as I haven’t had a decent workout since Monday.

In any case, I went to meet up with my friends as I haven’t seen them in several months so I really wanted to catch up. It was a lot of fun and as always playoff atmosphere can be pretty catchy. For the record I am a Leafs fan even though I live in Habs country.  It’s become more of a joke than anything else because the Montrealers get so sensitive about it hehe

We decided to leave after the first period and since I don’t have a lot of food at my place and it was close to 8, I picked up some subway instead.  Oops!

So I had this bad boy:

Veggie sub with cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, green peppers, pickles and hot peppers, with a bit of mustard and vinaigrette.  It really hit the spot, I can’t remember the last time I had subway!

I went to bed pretty late and determined to turn my day around. So this morning I kicked it off on a high note. Behold my Sports Bottle Smoothie!

I was running a bit late this morning (what else is new) but really wanted a smoothie for breakfast.  So I fired up my blender that is more ancient than Chia seeds.

The mix had:

1 c. almond milk

1 banana

A few strawberries

1 tbsp Chia

Since I was running late I poured the contents into one of my sports bottles and chugged while driving to work (aren’t I such the multi-tasker?)

Today’s goal: Go to gym @ Lunch!

My friend Tess and her boyfriend are driving down from Ottawa to attend tonight’s birthday festivities and I promised them Coconut Curry over Quinoa so I’ll need to head home right after work and get cracking/ clean up the house a bit before they get here 😉

On another fun note- I figured out my costume for tonight.  It’s going to be so 80s you’ll think its 1984 when you read tomorrow’s post. 😉

Hope you have a fabulous Friday!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

