Going Green?

Happy Thursday- 1 more day till my absolute favourite day of the week! Actually, this week it might be Sunday since that’s when the man comes home.  Definitely been missing him this week!

Ah well, enough sadness! Today is sunny and while it’s still cold, I have high hopes for a good day!

To start my day off, my breakfast was a concoction inspired from Oh She Glows, and by extension Savvy Eats. The following pictures may shock/ gross you out, but I encourage you to keep an open mind like I did 🙂

Behold the Green Monster Overnight Oats!

This interesting guy combines the nutrients of a green monster with the protein punch of overnight oats and makes, surprisingly, a pretty tasty combination.
I used:

GM:

1 big handful of spinach

1 c. vanilla almond milk

1 small banana

Oats:

1/3 c. oats

1 tbsp chia seeds

1 small banana chopped

Dump the contents of your GM into a bowl, stir in oats, seeds and banana and let sit in your fridge overnight. This morning, when I got to work, I topped him off with some vanilla yogurt and almond butter.

I am not going to lie, the first few bites were tentative and with my eyes closed (nearly missed a couple of times, actually) but in the end the rich flavour of the oats paired off nicely with the freshness of the GM and banana; the topping of yogurt and almond butter was just the icing on the cake.  I honestly don’t know if I’ll be making this again any time soon, but I’m glad I tried it.  It is pretty good and I encourage you to give it a try yourself.

Today will be another busy day so I need to get cracking. I will probably be heading to the mall for lunch though-my friends birthday party is tomorrow night and we’re going bowling 80s style so I need to get my costume.  Dressing up and costume parties are pretty big among my group of friends- so I’ve gotta pull out all the stops on this one.  Let me know if you have any suggestions for me  🙂

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

