Seeking Balance

Hello!

Do you ever feel like your life is off-keel, like you’re trying to keep all the pieces together and organized but always seem to leave something out?

I don’t know if I’m having trouble prioritizing by truly understanding what I feel is important to me, or if I’m just taking on too much.

I started this blog for a few reasons. One, focus on my training and stay honest with my diet and exercise regime as I prepare for my race.  Another is because I’m truly a passionate vegetarian and I want to share that with like-minded people (I’m the only vegetarian among my friends) and explore new ways of preparing vegetarian meals and experiment with ingredients I’ve yet to become acquainted.  Most of all I just wanted to find another creative outlet as I enjoy to write but don’t get to very often; I don’t count project briefs 😉

However, lately, I come to realize I need this blog to keep myself honest with the choices I make and how they will affect me.

I didn’t run today as I had planned, and I am really disappointed by this as I am trying so hard to keep up with my training.  I didn’t eat lunch due to unavoidable circumstances, so I came home starved ate a quick supper of a spinach salad with a sandwich before I had to rush off and meet friends for tea (we try to do this every so often). So, this meant I had to sacrifice my training for tonight, which as I said, is disappointing to me.

My life will not stop just because I have a race coming up.  I have a very demanding, full-time career-oriented job, I am a self-confessed work-a-holic, I have friends where, try as I might, weeks pass before I see them again, I also live with my boyfriend and try to spend as much time as I can with him, as he travels a lot.

As I sit back and analyze what I’ve just written, I’ve come to realize how often I put my job and career before anything else- before my boyfriend/friends/family, before my race, before my diet. It’s really sad, and I’m none too proud of it.  Don’t get me wrong, I am extremely proud of the position I hold and the industry in which I work, but I feel like I just don’t have that “balance” that I see so many others have.  I really need to change that. I need balance.  (Can you tell I’m a Libra?)

I know it’s the middle of the week, but I need to start somewhere.

Tomorrow, I’m supposed to meet friends for dinner to watch the hockey game.  I’ve decided I am still going to do it, but I am also going to leave work at 5:00pm on the dot so I can head immediately to the gym for a quick workout beforehand.  I’ve rarely done this, and I need to start taking time for myself and not constantly worry about work.  I’m not going to promise I will always do this, but I’m making it a personal goal to leave at 5pm at least once a week.  This way I think I may be able to accomplish more in the evenings and do more than just train.

How do you create balance in your life? Any tips you can pass along? J

I’m off to make some overnight oats for tomorrow’s breaky and finish off the laundry before I hit the sack. Have a good night and send me some positive vibes for tomorrow’s goal!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seeking Balance

  1. Tess says:

    I make an exhaustive list every day of things I need to do that day, then beside it mark whether each one is a “high”, “medium”, or a “low” priority. I figure out the time it will roughly take to do each, then go to it! Extensive, obsessive scheduling – that’s my balance 🙂

Leave a Reply

