The Power of Planning Ahead

Good Morning!

Safe to say, never again will I train at 9pm!!!

My body just does not have the energy to put in a really good workout at 9pm.  That’s not to say last nights training session was fruitless, it just wasn’t as good as it could’ve been had it been earlier.

That being said, Julie, upon remembering my race is coming up in just over a month, definitely put me through my paces.

For some reason my stomach was not up to par all day yesterday which continued on into the evening so we decided to forgo the interval training on the treadmill and just did an easy 20 minutes at a 6.8mph pace.  Though this wasn’t a typically hard pace for me, I was panting just a bit and Julie tends chat with me while I run, in French that is.  While my handle on the French language is pretty damn good, it gets a bit trying when you’re focusing on breathing properly 😉

My new intervals will be: 7.2mph for 7 minutes followed 3 minutes either walking or gentle jogging, I’ll do this interval three times.  We’ll see how that goes, I’m excited to try it out!

Following cardio we moved on to weights.

I’ll now be doing the following:

Upper Body:

15 reps shoulder press, 15 lbs weights

15 reps chest press, 15 lbs weights

Bicep curls with the exercise elastics, feet just past shoulder width apart

Lower Body

15 reps Dead lift- 18-20lbs

25 reps per foot, calf raises; 20 lbs weight in hand

15 reps per foot, ball roll out (1 leg raised in the air)

15 reps per foot, hip raises on half ball

15 reps thigh squeeze (lie on your back, lift your legs in the air, squeeze a stability ball between your thighs, hold for 4 seconds, release for 2, repeat)

Needless to say, I came home pretty tired, took a quick shower, and all but tumbled into bed.  I am extremely thankful that I had everything ready the night before including breakfast!

Overnight Oats:

This was a mix of:

1/3 c oats

2/3 c. almond milk

1 ½ tbsp vanilla yogurt

1 tbsp almond butter

2 tbsp trail mix of almonds, sunflower seeds, cranberries and raisins

1 banana sliced

1 tsp of Chia seeds

This was my first experience with Chia seeds and I have to say, I’m pretty impressed by them.  Angela from Oh She Glows, was kind of enough to send me a link featuring all sorts of information and recipe ideas with Chia seeds; feel free to check it out: www.superseeds.ca

Let me tell you, the more I learn about these guys, the more I’ve realized how much I’ve been missing out on! So excited to learn more ways to incorporate them into my meals!

How do you enjoy incorporating Chia Seeds into your diet?

Alright time to put my nose to the grind, have a terrific Tuesday 😉 hehe

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

