Lists, Lists, and more Lists!

Good Morning!

Well, unfortunately another Monday is upon us, but I hope you’re making the most of it!
Sorry for disappearing after yesterday morning.

However I am pleased to report that I was able to complete yesterday’s checklist!

–         I did the majority of my laundry (only my whites left ~ half a load)

–         I completed a 4.5 mile run (not quite 5, but it was even windier outside yesterday than it was on Saturday!)

–         Dropped the man off at the airport- he’s made it safe and sound to Germany

–         Baked cookies (these turned out to be a semi disaster, oops!)

–         Got BATTERIES!!!! Hello pictures!

–         Made a delicious tortilla pizza for dinner

–         Watched Gilmore Girls episodes, well this wasn’t on my list, but I decided to do it anyway 😉

Knowing I’ve completed what I set out to do always makes me feel good. I am constantly making lists and keeping track of everything by writing it down (hence the creation of this blog) It’s the best way for me to keep myself organized with so much going on right now.  I know, I’m a huge dork- but everyone’s got a system, right?

Well as I mentioned, yesterday’s run was supposed to 5 miles, but I shortened it to 4.5 as the wind was seriously strong. I’m a pretty tiny girl and strong winds have a tendency to blow me over 😉 Kidding! But I had a hard time fighting my way for the first 2.5 miles that I had to turn back a bit sooner than I wanted- oh well!

Later on after I dropped the man off at the airport, I headed over to the store to pick up the remaining ingredients for my cookies. Unfortunately, I kind of forgot the eggs and did not feel like going back. So, I did what any savvy baker/cook would do in this situation- I panicked searched for substitutes online and discovered that I could use 3 tbsp of pureed fruit instead.  So I mashed up a banana and added that into the mix.  Sadly, I think I overbaked them, and my oatmeal-raisin-cranberry cookies got kind of, um, crispy.  Ah well live and learn, right? I’m definitely a better cook than a baker, but I promise to get better!

Following my attempt at baking, I decided to make a tasty li’l tortilla pizza.

I used:

2 tbsp spicy pizza sauce

Sliced zucchini

Diced avocado

Pieces of broccoli

2tbsp cheddar cheese

1 tbsp parmesan cheese

I broiled this baby in the oven and it came out with a nice crisp crust that was so delicious. I then kicked back to watch my Gilmore Girls with a cup of organic peppermint tea.  I went to bed a happy girl!

This morning dawned bright and sunny and I was full of energy.  The best results of a well rested and healthy weekend is the burst of energy you get on Monday morning- I was so ready to take on the day!

I had a quick breakfast of half a tortilla wrap with almond butter and a banana along with a tangelo.

Oh, and my ritual morning coffee 😉

Now, I really need to get back to work- as I mentioned this weekend, my to-do list for Monday grew exponentially- got to get cracking!!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

