Hit Me With Your Best Shot

Evening!

Before I expand on the Pat Benatar reference, I’ll start at the beginning:

Today has been a pretty laid-back and awesome day. After breakfast, I rolled up my sleeves and got to sorting out the house: I dusted, cleaned and scrubbed the mess away.  A bit of a relief as messes tend to stress me out at times.

Once I got the house sorted out, I packed a small homemade batch of trail mix made up of: almonds, hulled sunflower seeds, and dried cranberries; and embarked on one of my fav chores of all time- grocery shopping! I absolutely LOVE to grocery shop, I always view it as an adventure.   I’m also trying a new approach this week. They call it meal-planning- perhaps you’ve heard of it? 😉

I know they always tell you the easiest and most economical way to healthy eating is to plan your meals in advance. And while, theoretically, I totally agree- I must admit I do enjoy cooking on the fly and raiding my pantry as my earlier post proved. Nonetheless I’ll give the whole meal plan thing a shot and see how it lives up to my expectations.

The man of the house is heading to Germany tomorrow for a business trip and won’t be back till next Sunday and so that means I’ll be eating alone for the most part of the week.  The downsides to this are obvious- lonely, boring, hard to cook for one, etc… However there is one huge upside- I can eat absolutely whatever I want! I’m not trying to say that I have no say when it comes to cooking for the two of us, but it is easier to cook what you want when you only have one person to please.  So I decided to plan out my meals up until Thursday, and I’m pretty excited about them, so this should prove promising.

On my way back from the grocery store, I rewarded myself with a nice grande Soy Vanilla Latte from good ol’ Starbucks.  ‘nough said. 😉

I got home fairly late in the afternoon and fairly hungry so I decided we’d eat a lat(er) dinner and make myself a nice li’l lunch at 3:30pm.

I had a whole wheat wrap jam-packed with hummus, carrots, tomato, avocado, and spinach, topped off with a smidge of red wine vinegar.  Oh this was good!

Again, I seriously wish I had my camera operational. I DID try the camera phone route but for some reason that escapes me, my useless LG Dare won’t allow me to upload images to my computer. I’ve literally been online for the past hour trying to figure it out. If any of you have this phone and can help me, I’m begging you!

Following lunch I caught up on some work stuff and relaxed for a bit to let my food digest so I could head out on a run.

You may find it odd that I didn’t run first thing this morning.  While yes, I probably could have, I just personally find that I don’t usually have enough energy to put in a good run in the morning- I guess my body isn’t adjusted to do so. However, my upcoming race will be in the evening anyway so it’s not the end of the world that I’m not conditioning my body for runs in the morning.  I will occasionally run in the mornings, just not always.

Today’s run was set at an easy pace for 4 miles.  This is where the Pat Benatar reference comes in (bet you forgot about that, didn’t you?).  Well, it was pretty windy here in Montreal today, and the first 2 miles were right AGAINST the wind (I believe the weather network said it was around 37 km/h).  Needless to say these first two miles were not um, easy. But Pat Benetar’s “Hit me with your best shot” came on my ipod during the last bit of the 2 miles against the wind and I couldn’t help but laugh to myself at how fitting that was.  After my run I did a great session of stretching and some yoga poses to loosen up my muscles.

For dinner, since it’s the man’s last supper before his trip, I decided to make his favorite which is this concoction I’ve been making forever.  We call it Jambalaya, but it’s nowhere near accurate.  My mom came up with the recipe when I was in High School and I’ve since adapted to make it vegetarian friendly.  It’s not especially healthy with the Uncle Ben’s Spanish style rice, but it is just so filling and good- it makes for great leftovers too! Bonus- you can have it ready in about 20 minutes!

Here’s the recipe for Jess’s Jambalaya:

1 c. Uncle Ben’s Spanish Rice

2 c. Water

1 tsp butter or margarine (optional)

1 tbsp. vegetable oil

½ sweet onion thinly diced (I use a Vidalia- but any will do)

1 clove of garlic minced

¾ tbsp basil

¼ tsp chili pepper (or more if you like spicy food)

½ tsp paprika

1 package tofu cubed (I use an extra firm texture)

2-3 cups diced veggies (I typically use bell pepper, zucchini, and mushrooms, but you could also use carrots, other root vegetables, broccoli, asparagus, the possibilities are endless)

Instructions:

Combine rice, water and butter and follow package instructions

In large wok or skillet, heat oil over medium heat.

Add onion cook until softened, about 1 minute

Add garlic and cook, stirring constantly until fragrant, 30 seconds

Add spices and combine with onion and garlic

Add Tofu and cook 2-3 minutes, stirring often to avoid sticking

Trick- to avoid food sticking to the bottom of frying pan without adding more oil, add a bit of water and this can also help steam tougher veggies such as broccoli as you cook

Once Tofu begins to turn golden, add in your veggies and heat until cooked through

Add rice into tofu mixture, stir to combine and remove from heat

Taste and adjust seasonings if needed

We use this as one of our “go-to meals” during the week as its pretty inexpensive and quick to make- not to mention delicious and filling.

Well, I’m off to spend more time with the man and get some sleep.

Have a great night!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

