Workout aftermath

Morning!

Sorry for not showing up last night. I ended up leaving the office late, which turned into leaving the gym late, which turned into… well you get the point 😉

As I said, I headed over the gym last night so I could get in some lower body weights along with my stint of cardio. I do try to mainly run outside but as I don’t have any free-weights at home, I do still need my gym time.

To get my workout started I did intervals on the treadmill.  I have an extreme love/hate relationship with intervals. While I love how they help improve my times, I hate how I want to die while I’m doing them.

I did a total of 6 intervals with a 5 minute warm up.

First interval was a 7.43 pace (based on mph) for 3 minutes dropped down to 11:32 pace for 2 minutes.

Second interval was 8:13 pace for 3 minutes and then dropped down to 11:32 pace. I did each of these intervals 3 times.

Following my cardio I hopped over into the women’s weight area- I love my gym for having this section. It’s women’s only and it’s closed off from the rest of the gym so you don’t need to feel self conscious with all the muscle-heads pumping huge iron around you.

I did a nice lower body circuit.

– Dead-lift with 18lbs body bar x 15 reps

– Calf raises with 15lbs weight in one hand x 15 reps

– 1 legged hip raises on the half-stability ball x 15 reps per leg

– hamstring curls on the stability ball x 15 reps

I did this circuit 3 times and then did some stretching and some ab work

By the time I finished up and got home it was almost 8pm and I hadn’t eaten dinner yet- oops!

I grabbed some broccoli and zucchini I had picked up the other night and sautéed it in a bit of olive oil, garlic and rep pepper flakes for some kick.

I served it up alongside a grilled cheese sandwich on multigrain bread with some mustard for dipping- that’s right mustard. I’m not a huge ketchup fan so I always opt for mustard, one of my fav condiments of all time, for dipping. The only exception to this would be French fries, which I don’t eat often, where ketchup is acceptable.

After my dinner I watched a couple of episodes of Gilmore Girls and headed off to bed.

I woke up a bit later than normal and was kind of rushing to get out the door so I had to grab breakfast at the office- which I normally try to avoid. I opted for an English muffin with some peanut butter alongside an orange with a nice big coffee!

Alright well I’ve got quite a bit on my plate again today so I need to get crackin’! Talk to you in a bit!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

