Most Random Dinner

Hello!

Well unfortunately, my job and exhaustion led to a very bad headache that is keeping me from heading to my friend’s house for the sale.

I did not sleep well at all last night and I’m now paying the price.

Luckily I planned on taking a “rest” day from my workouts as I will be meeting up with my trainer, Julie-Catherine, tomorrow for what I’m sure will be an excruciating invigorating workout. But I’ll worry about that tomorrow 😉

Tonight I got home and really was not hungry for a while. It wasn’t until the man of the house left to go play hockey that I really decided to get cooking.

I originally wanted to make Kath’s bean burgers but realized, upon opening my pantry, I am out of beans (this rarely happens).  So, I decided to get crazy creative.

After a quick raid of my fridge/pantry I created the most random concoction known to vegetarian kind.  I seriously could not tell you how this came to be, only that I was craving different elements of it and put it all together like a stoned college student or a pregnant woman, of which I am neither 😉

I present to you the open-open faced zucchini italiano sandwich topped with caramelized onions.

I basically lightly breaded some zucchini slices with olive oil and a bit of bread crumbs and fried them up so they were light and crispy.  I toasted up a piece of multigrain bread, topped it with a slice of provolone cheese, a bit of tomatoe sauce, the zucchinis and some caramelized onions.  Surprisingly the end-product was absolutely delicious! Very filling and I possibly sense a remake in the future.

Alright, time to do the dishes since the man has deserted me in the name of sports 😉

Bonne Nuit!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Most Random Dinner

  1. Haha….I love random meals. I guess I eat like a college student or pregnant woman quite frequently! Your creation looks delicious 🙂

  2. (Oops! Commented under the wrong site!)

    Haha….I love random meals. I guess I eat like a college student or pregnant woman quite frequently! Your creation looks delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

