Mac ‘n Cheese Makes the World go Round

Soooo as you can see tonight’s dinner was a lovely bowl of macaroni and cheese-y delciousness!

Before dinner, though, I headed out on a lovely 3 mile run.  I was originally planning on heading over to the gym, but I decided I would rather run outside and so that’s what I did.

I will admit it wasn’t the easiest run, I was a bit tired, but I fought my way through it and felt fairly accomplished at the end.

I came home and the man had followed my instructions to put the mac n cheese in the oven. As you’ll recall, last night, I prepped the sauce and pasta last night, so all that needed to be done was to combine the two and put them into the casserole dish and bake.  I topped them off with a dusting of breadcrumbs and fresh Parmesan cheese.  I served this up with some steamed broccoli topped with some red pepper flakes and some garlic.

This recipe was inspired from a post by Jenna and has been on my mind since I came across it.

Blue Cheese Mac ‘n Cheese:

You will need:

1 box (500g) Macaroni

¼ c. butter

¼ .c. flour

2 cups milk

160 g. Emmental Cheese

70 g. Crumbled blue cheese

¼ c. Shredded Parmesan Cheese

2 tbsp bread crumbs

1 tbsp shredded Parmesan cheese

Instructions:

Cook pasta in pot of salted boiling water until al dente
In a large sauce pan, melt butter over medium low heat
Once melted stir in flour until completely absorbed
Slowly whisk in milk until well combined, bring to a boil
Remove from heat and add in cheese
Preheat oven to 350 F
Combine sauce and pasta and pour into casserole dish
Top with bread crumbs and parmesan cheese
Cover top with foil

Bake for 15 minutes, remove foil and bake for another 5 minutes or until top is crispy and golden.

I am off to enjoy an episode of Gilmore Girls and then head to bed, cuz I’m just that cool- have a good night!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

