In My Happy Place

Evening everyone,

How was your Monday? Mine has ended on such a high note.

Since leaving the office, I’ve spent the past few hours doing some of the things I love most:

–         Running and getting in a good work-out at the gym

–         Spending time with my honey 😉

–         Cooking!

Admittedly, I got home a bit later than usual from the gym, but only because I got a bit of a later start than normal- oh well. C’est la vie!

Today’s workout consisted of 30 minutes on the treadmill of varied intensity.
I started the first half mile at a steady pace of 9:17 mph and then upped my pace to 8:47 for the next mile and a half and then finished off my third mile at 9:17 pace. My legs were pretty tired today so I didn’t push myself too hard.

I then moved onto an upper-body work out where I did a 3-rep circuit:

–         Shoulder Press 10lbs –15 reps

–         Chest press 10lbs- 15 reps

–         Biceps with the elastics (not sure the name of them?) where I had my feet spread to the width of my shoulders- 15 reps

I then did some quick stretching and raced to the grocery store as we badly needed some items such as bread, milk, fruit & veggies- key staples in our household!

By the time I got home the man of the house was unable to wait for me and had already cooked himself a burger. So, I dug out the remaining Portobello mushroom from Friday’s Burger Bliss and repeated the balsamic, olive oil, basil routine but then topped the burger with fresh tomato, red onion and some jalapeno havarti and a bit of bbq sauce.

I devoured this with a side of greens with a bit of oil and vinegar dressing.

Oh and for dessert I may have had this li’l guy 😉

After I downed my dinner, I decided to get cracking on tomorrow’s dinner so I would be able to spend a bit more time on my workout tomorrow (need to do legs and abs as well as cardio).   I won’t reveal the menu now, but let me tell you- I am excited for tomorrow night!

Then, because I was such a busy little bee and totally on a roll I made both, mine and the man’s, lunches (aren’t I such a good g/f???) and cleaned up the kitchen. (I know, I know, I’m just too much hehe) AND I’ve brought out the blender and gotten all the ingredients ready to make SMOOTHIES tomorrow.

As I mentioned this morning- the key to getting up and at ‘em in the mornings is to give yourself some motivation. Well, what is more motivating than knowing you will start your day off with a fresh and fantastic smoothie and finish it with a delcious, no hassle, and healthy meal?

Now that I’m ready for the morning, it’s time to get ready for bed- I have definitely earned sleep!

Bonne Nuit

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

