Artichoke Success!

Good Afternoon!

Sorry I was MIA for the past 24 hours.

Here’s what I’ve been up to:

Yesterday I went for a fabulous 4 Mile run along the water- it felt so wonderful to have the cool breeze coming off the lake mix with the hot air of the warm spring day.

Following my run I had a quick sandwich of Almond butter and raspberry jam on multigrain toast, along with an un-pictured apple.  Afterward I quickly ran to the store to pick up the supplies for my stuffed artichokes that I was preparing for yesterday’s Easter dinner.

Soon after I returned my friend came to pick me up where we headed over to our friend’s house for an Easter dinner extravaganza.  It started at 3pm and went until almost 3am.

I’m happy to report my artichokes turned out perfectly.  Unfortunately, my camera died before I was able to take any pics, but I’ll give you the recipe anyway:

You will need:

–         4-6, depending on their size, artichokes (I used 6 medium sized)

–         1 lemon

–         ¼ c. dried cranberries

–         ½ c. dry white wine

–         1-2 tbsp olive oil

–         1 small onion chopped (I used a yellow one)

–         1 glove of garlic finely chopped

–         12 olives, pitted and chopped (I used kalamata but you could use any kind you like)

–         1 c. breadcrumbs

–         1/3 c. pine nuts (but walnuts would work nicely, too)

–         1 tsp fresh thyme

–         slivers of fresh parmesan cheese

–         ¼ c. water

–         1 bay leaf

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 F

– combine the cranberries and white wine in a small bowl, let sit 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, prepare the artichokes by:

Peel back and snapoff the tough outer pieces until you get to the soft pale yellow leaves, use a sharp small knife to cut the top third off. Peel back and remove the dark purple center leaves to reveal the hairy choke.  Remove the choke with both a small knife and spoon or use a melon ball spoon.  Cut off the bottom stem so will stand flat. Rub a wedge of lemon over the cut pieces and center to prevent from oxidizing, place artichoke in bowl of water mixed with lemon juice.

Stuffing:

–         heat oil in medium skillet over medium-low heat

–         add onions and sauté until soft

–         add garlic and stir for 30 sec-1 min, or until fragrant

–         remove from heat, add in olives, breadcrumbs, pine nuts, thyme

–         strain cranberries, reserve wine, add cranberries to stuffing mixture

–         taste, season with salt and pepper if needed

–         Drain artichokes and pat dry

–         Fill the artichokes with stuffing, if extra, set aside

–         Top each artichoke with a piece of parmesan cheese

–         Place the artichokes in an uncovered casserole dish, combine reserved wine liquid and water and pour into dish

–         Place bay leaf in dish

–         Bake for 30 minutes if artichokes are small, or up to an hour if large, bake until tender

–         If you have remaining stuffing you can put this in an oven proof bowl, cover with a piece of tinfoil, and place in oven for remaining 20 minutes so you have extra stuffing to serve to your guests

I know it seems fairly time consuming, but you won’t regret- these are delicious!!!
I also brought along a great 2007 bottle of Bordeaux, which was very good too 😉

Now, I’m just at home, where I’ve finished a lunch of 1 pc of wholegrain toast with hummus and jalapeño havarti, served up with some leftover salad from last night and some mixed olives!

Time to get ready for Easter dinner round 2- with the boyfriend’s family!

Hope you enjoy the rest of your Sunday and Happy Easter if you’re celebrating this holiday! J

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

