I’m back!

Hey Guys!

Well I am back from the townships and talk about a great weekend! It’s always great to be able to see my parents, not going to lie, I definitely miss them back in Oakville sometimes.

As what always happens at a family gathering of mine, the great food, good wine and excellent conversation come out- but more on that later.

Corry and I drove up later than normal as we both finished work a bit later than we wanted to for a Friday.  So, after a quick meal, we threw some clothes in a bag, piled into the car and hit the road.  By the time we got in, it was shortly after 9, and we were all a bit tired, including my parents who had driven up from Oakville earlier that day (about a 7hr drive for them).  Needless to say, we all hit the sack quite early that night.

The next morning dawned not nearly as sunny as I had hoped for spring skiing, but it was still mild and no rain was in sight.  My Dad and I were the only ones up for it,  so we headed up to Mont Sutton and hit the slopes.

I AM SO GLAD WE DID!

Mainly because this is probably the last time I will get to ski this season and also because I just love skiing with my Dad- definitely Daddy-Daughter bonding time haha, The conditions were pretty decent as far as Spring skiing goes, especially when it has been a very mild March.

After a few hours, the snow started getting pretty heavy, and as pro-skiiers as my Dad and I are 😉 we decided it was time to pack it in.

By the time we got back to the chalet it was mid-afternoon, Corry went for a nap and my Dad followed suit not too long after him (you can tell we’re real party animals huh?).  Anyway I helped my Mom get things ready for dinner: Roast beef for the carnivores, Tofu for the veggie and all sorts of yummy veggies to go along with it. We invited some friends of the family for dinner and so we cracked open the wine and just had fun time laughing together.  Dinner was amazing, in case you were curious I was pretty simple with my tofu: I cut about 3oz into triangles and coated the pieces in flour, then I heated about 1tsp of olive oil over med-high heat in small frying pan, when the oil is hot I added in the tofu and cooked both sides for about 2 min each to get a nice crispy coating and then added in some bbq sauce (I know, real classy) and removed from heat.  Pretty simple, pretty freakin amazing! Some of our friends they decided they wanted to try a piece and were all pleasantly surprised to find they liked it! This has happened time and time again, so I always consider it a personal victory ;).

Anyway, dinner was fun and entertaining and afterward we watched the hockey game (LEAFS WON!!!- Hey, I’m originally from Toronto, sorry, fellow MTLers, I always have been and always will be!).

We woke up to eggs and toast and headed back into the city.  Time to get some chores done before dinner.

Enjoy the rest of your afternoon!

P.S. I promise I will soon start posting pictures, I just need to get my camera cord back which will happen shortly!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

