Curried Greens and Beans

This weekend, in a word: rocked!

Saturday morning I woke up to clear skies and one of those exceptionally nice, sunny, and crisp autumn mornings.  I popped into Starbucks then, pumpkin spice latte in hand, drove to Ottawa to cheer Tess  on in her second fitness competition. Oh, and managed to squeeze in a kick ass 10k run along the Ottawa canal. So far, so good ;)

If you’ve never checked out Tess’s blog, I really suggest you do.  She is one of the most motivated and inspiring people I know.  Here are some shots from her show:

Yeah, I know. I wish I could look that good too.  Simply amazing.

Following her competition we went to Play, this fantastic small-plates style restaurant where we had, hands down, the best curried brussel sprouts I’ve ever tasted.  Yes, the side dish is what I raved about the most. Don’t get me wrong, my gnocchi with radicchio and oyster mushrooms was also delicious, but I can’t stop thinking about the sprouts.

That’s normal behavior, right?

Anyway, by the time I got back to Montreal, I guess those sprouts were still on my mind along with my newfound obsession with kale.  Following a trip to the fruit and veggie market, I walked out with these ingredients:

I guess I decided to make a curry of my own ;)

Curry dishes are all about flavour, so I really made sure to pack it in.

Start with a base of garlic, ginger, and onion

Now add in some spice: I used Garam Masala and some crushed red pepper flakes.  The key here is to make sure you let this cook for a few minutes to give the flavours time to come together- you’ll smell it when it’s ready.

Next, add in coconut milk to create an amazing curry sauce for your veggies.  I opted for Kale, Brussel Sprouts, Potatoes and white kidney beans.  Be sure you pre-cook your potatoes and sprouts, you could roast them if you wanted, but I decided to just boil them.

When prepping your sprouts remember to score a cross on the bottom to eliminate any bitter taste, I also like to add a bit of white vinegar to the water when boiling them- a trick I learned from Mama Starkey.

This recipe is easy, delicious, and vegan and I really encourage you to try it out.

Curried Greens and Beans

Ingredients:

1 tbsp vegan butter

1 tbsp vegetable oil

1 clove of garlic, minced

1 Tbsp miniced fresh ginger

1 onion, finely chopped

2 tbsp garam masala

Pinch of red chili pepper flakes (to taste)

Salt and Pepper to taste

1 can of lite coconut milk

4 large leaves kale torn into bite-sized pieces

1 ½ c. brussel sprouts, cooked, halved

1 ½ c. small potatoes, cooked, halved

1 can white kidney beans, drained and rinsed

Directions:

Boil brussel sprouts and potatoes until almost cooked through, halve, then set aside.

Preheat butter and oil in a wok or large skillet over medium-high heat.

Add in your garlic, ginger, and onion and sauté for 1-2 minutes until fragrant.  Add in your seasonings and allow it cook for 3-5 minutes until golden and fragrant and most of the oil has been cooked down.  Next, add in your coconut milk, cook for 5 minutes until slightly thickened.

Now add in your kale and cook it down for at least 3 minutes before adding in the remainder of your veggies and beans and let it cook through.

Serve it up and enjoy!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Curried Greens and Beans

  1. Tess Grise says:

    Thanks for the shout-out hun :) I’m so happy to you came to cheer me on. I need to get those pics from you!! Now that I can eat all foods again, I can’t wait to try this :D

Leave a Reply

