Savoury Squash Pancakes

I’m not even going to try and explain the 8 months I’ve been absent, really there’s no excuse.

Moving on.

Yesterday, I rediscovered my joy in the kitchen when Angela posted a drool-inducing recipe:  Butternut Squash Mac and Cheeze. Help me.

As soon as I saw it, I knew I had to make it, stat.  So on my way home from work I made several stops to get the ingredients (I don’t want to talk about it), finally got home at 6:30, nearly sheared off my finger with my veggie peeler (again, I don’t want to talk about it), shoved the squash in the oven and got down to business.

That is, until I realized I’d purchased the wrong almond milk. (seriously?!)

However, by 8pm, I was in my pj’s gleefully gobbling up the most amazing vegan mac n cheeze dish known to mankind.  Angela- how do you do it?!

Now, I was left with a ton of leftover squash.

To those who live in the realm of “9-5”, which is never “9-5”, you know that leftovers are a gift from heaven.  So during my lunch hour I was searching for some inspiration and the cold, rainy, Montreal weather pretty much demanded I make pancakes. Don’t question it, just go with it.

1 ¼ c. whole wheat flour (or flour of choice)

1 tsp baking powder

¼ tsp baking soda

½ tsp garlic powder

S&P

1 c. unsweetened non-dairy milk

2/3 c. pureed butternut squash

Canola Oil for frying

Directions

Mix Dry Ingredients together, set aside

Combine milk and squash and add into dry ingredients, mix until just combined.  Let rest for 5 minutes.

Heat oil in skillet over medium heat, pour in your batter and wait for it to set; flip and cook until heated through.

This batter made me 8 medium-sized pancakes.

Once you’ve used up all your batter you can start on the sauce.

Brown Butter Marjoram Sauce

½ cup vegan butter (or regular)

3 tbsp fresh marjoram (sage would actually be better but marjoram was all I could find)

Heat butter in your pancake skillet until the foam subsides and then add in your marjoram. Once the butter is nicely browned and the marjoram is fragrant and pour over your pancakes.

Bon Appetit!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Savoury Squash Pancakes

  1. Tess Grise says:

    Marjoram sauce? Brilliant! Looks delish :) Do you think you’ll have MORE leftovers for breakfast??

Leave a Reply

