Tarts for a Tart

Ok, so maybe I’m not a tart in the true sense of the word. Or am I?

Ah the glory years of 21, how I miss you!

Anyway, the other night, you know when I actually wanted to post this recipe, I decided to revisit my time in Paris; beautiful Paris in the eyes of a naïve yet feisty 15 year old girl.

Ah the glory years of 15, how I don’t miss you.

One of my clearest memories of Paris besides the Eiffel Tower where I was stalked by pierced and tattooed Germans (which is another story for another time) was clearly the food.   I remember my friend Nancy and I picked up these gigantic sandwiches that were good till the last bite, I remember baguettes with jam and coffee for breakfast, I sort of remember the wine ;)

I also remember the tarts.

Tarts to me are a wonderful and diverse food group that are just plain tasty.  Savoury or sweet, you know someone’s eyes will light up when they see you’re serving them a tart.

That can be taken in any context you wish, I don’t judge here.

These tarts that I’m about to show you are both easy and delicious.  Again, take that anyway you want.

Caramelized Onion Puff Pastry tarts

Ingredients:

1 large white onion, halved and thinly sliced.

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp sugar

½ tsp salt

2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

6-8 cherry tomatoes, halved

1 tsp dried basil

1 sheet of puff pastry, defrosted according to package directions

1 egg

2 tbsp water

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 F.

Begin by caramelizing your onions. Bring oil to medium heat in a large skillet; add in your onions, sugar and salt.  Reduce heat to medium low and cook until onions are a nice light golden colour:

Then go ahead and add in your balsamic vinegar, continue cooking until onions are completely reduced and caramelized, set aside.

Now you’ll want to bring on out your puff pastry.  If it’s in a block, roll it out to 1/8 of an inch thick, otherwise just roll out flat.

Next, grab a round cookie cutter, or a glass in my case, and cut out as many holes as you can on the sheet.  I used a large glass and got 6.

Place the rounds on a baking sheet lined with either parchment or wax paper.  Now beat your egg and water together and brush the mixture lightly over the puff pastry- this will give it that pretty golden brown sheen once baked.

Top each tart with caramelized onions, 2-3 cherry tomato halves, and basil.

Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes until golden brown rotating halfway through.

Serve it up as an appetizer or with a small salad for a light meal.  Don’t forget the wine!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tarts for a Tart

  1. Tess says:

    You know, I don’t think I’ve ever a) made, or b) eaten a savoury tart before! I’m having company over this weekend and may very well serve these ;)

Leave a Reply

